Financial Tune-up

Posted on February 15, 2011 by

0



Tax time! The most dreaded season by far for all money managers–domestic and otherwise. I need to go through rounds of mental, physical and emotional pep-talk before I get ready to tackle my taxes.

As part of my regimen in scouring the Web for new tricks and tax breaks for the year, I came across this great resource in the “Your Money” section of the New York Times that I absolutely swear by.

The author goes through a step-by-step process of checking through your insurance deductibles, home insurance, car insurance, medical insurance, your investment portfolio, airline points, gift cards, phone payments, credit card interest rates and more.

For each category, Ron Lieber, the Your Money columnist, offers his insights on video. You can customize your list by removing items to suit your strategy, and then print a personalized list of the items you plan on tackling today.

Take a look at their interactive check list here: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/03/24/your-money/financial-tuneup-checklist.html?src=me&ref=your-money

You’ll be surprised at how much money you end up saving and the mental peace is more than worth the time invested!

Posted in: USA